Foundation 1991

EGYPTIAN WOMEN'S DERMATOLOGIC SOCIETY is one of the most prominent and influential societies in the field of Dermatology. EWDS was founded as a non-profit association in 1991 by Prof. Dr.  Zenab Elgothamy. Dr. Zenab served as the first President of the society from 1991 to 2007. The next president was Prof. Dr. Fadia sorour from 2008 to 2017.

EWDS is a member of International league of Dermatologic Societies (ILDS).

Professor Zenab Elgothamy received many National and International awards for her lifetime achievement in the field of dermatology and for the activities of the EWDS, some of the prestigious awards were: MARIA M DURAN, MD Medal "Leadership in International Dermatology" presented by the International Society of Dermatology, at the American Academy of Dermatology meeting in San Francisco, California USA in March 2006; and the “INTERNATIONAL PIONEER AWARD for DISTINGUISHED WOMEN IN DERMATOLOGY” presented at the World Congress of Dermatology in Vancouver, Canada, in June 2015.

Since the foundation of the Society, many scientific and charity activities have been accomplished. International meetings were conducted on yearly basis with collaboration of eminent Professors of dermatology from around the world.

In recent years, the society has been continuing its great achievements under the super active president of EWDS Prof. Dr. May El-Samahy, Prof. of Dermatology and Venereology, Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt

Prof. Dr. May El-Samahy, is one of the leading physicians in the field of Dermatology in Egypt.

EWDS’s international Annual conference is one of the most important events in the dermatology calendar. The EWDS Conference, which takes place in the winter, attracts a lot of dermatologists from all over the world each year.



Foundation date: 1991

Founded by : Prof. Zenab M. G. El-Gothamy, MD

Registration date: 1991

Registration number: 3817 at Ministry of social solidarity (formerly Ministry of Social Affairs) in Cairo, Egypt



President of the Society